‘LMK’: Kelela Returns With A Sensual Late-Night Invitation!

Behold: The new Kelela is finally is upon us…

After dropping her 2013 debut mixtape Cut 4 Me, as well as her breakout EP Hallucinogen, one of 2015’s very best, the rising R&B singer-songstress is finally ready to begin anew – and “LMK” is our very first taste of what’s to come from her long-awaited, full-length album called Take Me Apart, which is set to be released on October 4th from Warp Records.

“Despite it being a personal record, the politics of my identity informs how it sounds and how I choose to articulate my vulnerability and strength,” Kelela said in statement about Take Me Apart. “I am a black woman, a second-generation Ethiopian-American, who grew up in the ‘burbs listening to R&B, jazz and Björk. All of it comes out in one way or another.”

As for lead single “LMK,” the Arca-produced track – which premiered Tuesday (August 1) on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 show – is smooth and enticing R&B slow-burner that highlights Kelela‘s impatience with a potential lover: “Let me know/ It ain’t that deep by the way/ Let me know/ Said I gotta go, don’t wanna hear me say/ Let me know/ It ain’t that deep by the way/ No one’s tryna settle down/ All you gotta do is let me know…,” she seductively croons on hook, bringing to mind classic Aaliyah-like vibes.

Her imitate invitation may be earnest, but it’s also strictly on her terms so LET HER KNOW! In short, the song is essentially a ‘it’s getting late… are we doing this or what?’ bedroom anthem – ya feel? I loves me a woman who knows what she wants – THIS IS LIT!

https://open.spotify.com/embed/album/5FEEH1krjffTBOsf7xgvw6

“LMK” by Kelela is also available on Apple Music now!


from Jon ALi’s Blog http://jonalisblog.com/2017/08/02/lmk-kelela-returns-with-a-sensual-late-night-invitation/

Leave a Reply

