Jessie Ware Returns With A Confessional Late-Night Affair, ‘Midnight’!

There’s no need to wait until “Midnight” cause the new Jessie Ware single has arrived, and it’s amazing. How very shook-ing…

It’s been about three years since the soulful UK songstress released her sophomore LP, Touch Love. It was easily one of 2014’s very best records, supplying us with gems like “You & I (Forever),” “Champagne Kisses,” “Sweetest Song” and of course, “Say You Love Me,” which still has the power to bring me to tears.

And now (finally), a third Jessie Ware serving is coming. Yupp, the follow-up to Tough Love will be delivered this year. As she revealed in a brand new interview with FADER, the LP will feature contributions from Francis and the Lights, Cashmere Cat, Ryan Tedder, pop master-crafter Julia Michaels, and previous collaborators Benny Blanco and Ed Sheeran.

“I’ve written with a lot of different people, but I think what’s bringing it all together is my voice, and the storytelling,” Jessie told the FADER. “It’s quite a personal record, which I didn’t realize [when writing it]. I thought I was just writing songs, but it’s become this record that’s for my husband and my baby. It’s been a wild couple of years, and I feel like this album represents those ups and downs, the fear, the beauty, and the celebrations.”

To kick things off properly, Jessie‘s premiered lead single: “Midnight,” a confessional, haunting, and romantic R&B-leaning gem that finds Jessie reflecting on her relationship with her husband. “Maybe I love you/ Maybe I want to/ Maybe I need you/ Oh, yeah/ Maybe I love you,” Jessie effortlessly croons across the steady ambient pulses, buoyant piano melodies, and bouncy drum beats. “Don’t let me fall through/ Now that I need you/ I feel this magic is never gonna fade/ I ain’t got nothing to say.”

It’s an intimate sonic affair fit for slow dancing and some late-night love-making, and that is exactly how I like my Jessie Ware records. LOVE! LOVE! LOVE!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p059v972/player

“Midnight” will be available everywhere on Friday (July 27)!


from Jon ALi’s Blog http://jonalisblog.com/2017/07/27/jessie-ware-returns-with-a-confessional-late-night-affair-midnight/

Leave a Reply

