‘Mattress’: Leland, Pop Song Master Crafter, Begins Anew With Killer Unrequited Love Gem!

If you don’t already love Brett McLaughlin aka Leland, you certainly already love his work: The Mississippi-bred, LA-based singer-songwriter has spent the last few years penning a bunch of tracks for our favorite pop stars, including a majority of the standouts on Daya‘s debut Sit Still, Look Pretty and Allie X‘s latest CollXtion II, as well as Jaira Burns‘ stellar debut “Ugly,” Martin Garrix and Troye Sivan‘s “There For You,” Sabrina Carpenter‘s “Why” and Selena Gomez‘s Gucci Mane-assisted soon-to-be-smash, “Fetish“! He is KING in the art form that is Stellar Pop Gems.

And judging by Leland‘s brand new single “Mattress,” co-written alongside his bestie Allie X, he’s about to have quite the pop career of his very own, on his own terms of course.

The aching electro-pop production sees Leland coping with some unrequited love (a universal relatable subject) above chilly atmospherics and a gentle electronic pulse — at first: “You’re the first place my mind goes/ And the last place I wanna go tonight/ But not just for a drive by/ See the sun with my eyes closed/ And the moon out the window/ I might, but that’s only in my mind…,” he contemplates.

As the track builds, Leland starts to loudly lose control: “Why do I always do this to myself/ I let you go with someone else/ When all I want’s my body on your mattress,” he cries out, showcasing his soaring chops across a cluster of infectious synth progressions. (Not the annoyingly cliché EDM kind — it’s more of a forward-thinking, finger-snapping kind of strut, I’d say.) It’s beyond solid, that’s for sure.

So what why does Leland keep doing this to himself? If it’s what’s helping him write these killer tunes, then let’s keep these bodies off the damn “Mattress.” I kid, I kid. Get familiar now folks, Leland is IT!

“Mattress” by Leland is also available on Apple Music and Spotify!


from Jon ALi’s Blog http://jonalisblog.com/2017/07/21/mattress-leland-pop-song-master-crafter-begins-anew-with-killer-unrequited-love-gem/

Leave a Reply

