Kesha Makes No Motherfuckin’ Apologies On Feisty Feminist Anthem, ‘Woman’!

There’s no stopping her now… Kesha is on a roll. With little warning, our Warrior Queen has gone ahead and released yet another brand new song from her upcoming album Rainbow, called “Woman“!

Woman,” the second song from Kesha‘s third studio album, is a feisty feminist anthem, much different than the empowering, slow-building meditation on recovery that is lead single “Praying.” Joined by the Dap-Kings Horns section, Kesha makes it clear from the jump who’s in charge (“I buy my own things, I pay my own bills/ These diamond rings, my automobiles/ Everything I got, I bought it…“) with a thrilling, throwback soul-pop gem that puts herself and the ladies first. AMEN!

I’m a motherfucking woman, baby, alright/ I don’t need a man to be holding me too tight/ I’m a motherfucking woman, baby, that’s right/ I’m just having fun with my ladies here tonight/ I’m a motherfucker,” she chants on the immediately memorable hook before bursting into laughter – just like the good old days. In fact, she bursts into a laugh at multiple points throughout the song, cementing it’s fun, free-spirited vibe. This is the Kesha we’ve always known and adored.

It’s accompanied by a music video in which Kesha jumps right back into her signature care-free persona, taking the wheel of her classic Cadillac in a red cowboy suit and fittingly fierce gold ensemble as she dances it out with her band at a dive bar. “I realized that for most of my life I was intimidated to even try and run in the leagues of the people I look up to,” Kesha told Rolling Stone in a poignant essay. “With ‘Woman,’ I hope my fans will hear that wild spirit still strong inside me but this time it was created more raw, spontaneously and with all live instrumentation, which I found was a huge reason I loved the records I did love. There were one or two or 12 different people playing real instruments together, and all that real human energy is exciting and very fun to listen to. I wanted this song to capture that organic, raw, soulful sound and keep the imperfect moments in the recordings because I find the magic in the imperfections.”

“Woman” by Kesha is also available on iTunes and Spotify now!


from Jon ALi’s Blog http://jonalisblog.com/2017/07/13/kesha-makes-no-motherfuckin-apologies-on-feisty-feminist-anthem-woman/

Leave a Reply

