Carly Rae Jepsen Saves 2017 With Joyous ‘Leap!’ Soundtrack Single, ‘Cut To The Feeling’!

Carly Rae Jepsen, Queen in the art-form that is ’80s-influenced pop greatness, is here to save us from our 2017 blues! And so, she’s blessed us with a treat sweeter than anything we deserve, quite frankly (we are not worthy of her existence): “Cut To The Feeling“!

First things first: “Cut To The Feeling” is NOT the lead single off of Carly‘s E·MO·TION follow-up record, which she has apparently written 50 songs for already. However, it is indeed a leftover from the E·MO·TION sessions. A leftover that was also a contender for E·MO·TION: Side B, but then Carly decided to save it for the soundtrack to her upcoming 3D computer-animated musical adventure comedy film, Leap!, which was originally released last year in France and in the UK as Ballerina – Get the gist?

“That was definitely from the era of E·MO·TION. That was actually a contender for [E·MO·TION: Side B] and, originally, the first album. It was almost too cinematic and theatrical. I was like, ‘If I had my way with it, this would be great for a musical or movie!’,” Carly told EW. “When Ballerina [Leap!] came along, I met with people as I was doing the voiceover… and they were showing me a couple scenes. There was one in particular where they were like, We’re looking for the right song for this, do you have anything?’ I was like, ‘Actually, this has been in my back pocket. I’ve been saving it for the B-sides, but if this works for you guys, I’d be stoked to share it.‘”

As expected, “Cut To The Feeling” is unapologetically ’80’s-inspired – in fact, it may arguably be one of the most ’80’s-inspired songs from Carly yet, from the twinkling intro to the hand claps to those thunderous synth blasts. “I wanna cut through the clouds, break the ceiling/ I wanna dance on the roof, you and me alone/ I wanna cut to the feeling, oh yeah,” she chants on the supremely, euphoric chorus.

It’s honestly everything. Take me to E·MO·TION, I want to go all the damn way with you Carly!

“Cut To The Feeling” by Carly Rae Jepsen is also available on Apple Music and Spotify now!


from Jon ALi’s Blog http://jonalisblog.com/2017/05/26/carly-rae-jepsen-saves-2017-with-joyous-leap-soundtrack-single-cut-to-the-feeling/

Leave a Reply

