Camila Cabello Lets It All Out On Haunting Beauty, ‘I Have Questions’!

Camila Cabello‘s got questions for you… whoever “you” are.

Following the release of her liberating Christina Aguilera-sampling, Sia-penned soon-to-be-smash “Crying in the Club,” the 20-year-old former Fifth Harmony songstress has decided to drop yet another cut from her upcoming full-length LP, The Hurting. The Healing. The Loving: “I Have Questions,” which was first teased in the music video for “Crying in The Club,” and was produced by Jesse Shatkin (Sia, Kelly Clarkson, Tegan & Sara, etc.)

Camila says she “started writing in a hotel bathroom on tour a little over a year ago. I was completely broken during that time, I was in the kind of pain that’s uncomfortable to talk about, and it was the kind of chapter you never want to read out loud… I couldn’t write another song for 6 months because writing meant I had to feel everything, and I wasn’t ready to do that yet. So when i graduated from hotel bathrooms to studios to make my first album, I was making music about everything BUT what i was going through, it was like a secret burning on my tongue and for some reason I could not get myself to say it. Till one day I just could not run anymore. I pulled up the lyrics from the year before, and ‘I Have Questions‘ was written.”

Not only is “I Have Questions” drastically different from “Crying in the Club,” it’s truly one of Camila‘s most intense vocal performances yet, and easily the most personal we’ve heard her. “Why did you leave me here to burn?/ I’m way too young to be this hurt/ I feel doomed in hotel rooms/ Staring straight up at the wall/ Counting wounds and I am trying to numb them all,” she achingly croons in a chill-inducing pace, allowing dramatic strings, lingering piano melodies, and warm flares of atmospheric electronica to fill out the track.

I have questions for you/ Number one, tell me who you think you are/ You got some nerve trying to tear my faith apart (I have questions for you)/ Number two, why would you try and play me for a fool?/ I should have never ever ever trusted you (I have questions),” she cries out on the haunting hook.

By the time the second verse kicks in, Camila isn’t holding back anymore, she just breaks and starts to growl and crack with all her might: “I gave you all of me/ My blood, my sweat, my heart, and my tears/ Why don’t you care, why don’t you care?” Sounds like one hell of a breakup, that’s for sure – this is clearly from The Hurting part of the album.

But really, “I Have Questions” is exactly the kind of song I’ve been waiting to hear from Camila. An emotionally raw outburst that gives us a better idea of what we can expect from her as an artist, and not just your typical pop princess.

https://open.spotify.com/embed/album/5vZ3Yotbw61UDCcyIfMcrr

 

“I Have Questions” by Camila Cabello is also available on Apple Music!


from Jon ALi’s Blog http://jonalisblog.com/2017/05/21/camila-cabello-lets-it-all-out-on-haunting-beauty-i-have-questions/

Leave a Reply

