Song of the Week: Wale ‘My Love’ (feat. Major Lazer, WizKid & Dua Lipa)

This week’s Song of the Week comes from a name that you all should be familiar with at this point in his career: Wale!

Just last week, the D.C. rapper dropped his fifth studio album SHINE a week in advance on Friday (April 28). The star-studded 14-track set comes loaded with features from a diverse roster of collaborators, including Chris Brown, Lil Wayne, G-Eazy, J Balvin, and Travis Scott, who guests on the single “Fish n Grits.” But while those are all fine and dandy, it’s my personal fave “My Love,” that stood out among the rest.

Featuring rising songstress Dua Lipa, WizKid and production by Major Lazer, “My Love” is that carefree and breezy, summertime tune I’ve been craving for, featuring those signature Major Lazer dancehall stylings. Their deep bass undertones give body to the song’s light, tropical synth topline while Dua brings the heat throughout with her husky prowess. In addition, Wiz also adds his vocals into the mix as the track’s chorus: “Show me my love, oh God/ Show me sweet love, yeah/ Show me my love, oh yeah…”

If the amount of combined star power on “My Love” doesn’t already cause a stir, its irresistibly catchy foundation and poolside flow are likely to entice listeners into putting this one on repeat. GET INTO IT!

Wale’s new album SHINE is also available on Spotify and Apple Music!


from Jon ALi’s Blog http://jonalisblog.com/2017/05/03/song-of-the-week-wale-my-love-feat-major-lazer-wizkid-dua-lipa/

Leave a Reply

