Zedd & Alessia Cara Team Up On Pop-Friendly Affair, ‘Stay’!

Kygo and The Chainsmokers aren’t the only ones with a fierce collaboration up their sleeve. Fellow EDM heavyweight Zedd, of Ariana GrandeBreak Free” and Hailee SteinfeldStarving” dance-pop greatness, is also joining in on the fun this week with the premiere of his new single “Stay,” featuring Alessia Cara!

Much like “Starving” before it, “Stay” is a more pop-friendly affair that sees Alessia laying down her disincentive vocals on-top of a steady rhythm of tribal percussions, hi-hats, and shimmering synths. “All you have to do is stay a minute/ Just take your time/ The clock is ticking, so stay/ All you have to is wait a second/ Your hands on mine/ The clock is ticking, so stay,” Alessia pleads before Zedd kicks it into high gear with a turbulent drop fueled by a synthesis of future-bass and electro-pop elements.

Alessia fans will be pleased to hear the “Scars To Your Beautiful” hit-maker lending her voice to a different sound, but longtime Zedd fans may find the production a bit predictable. Either way, I think these two won’t have a problem getting the airplay they need to make this one a hit.

“I’d loved her songs before but realized that she’s an unbelievable talent when we started rehearsing together,” Zedd said in a statement. “I think this song is right in the middle between where Alessia is musically and where I am and that’s what’s so exciting about it. I’ve been trying to knock down barriers around music genres and this is another step for me to walk towards a musical future where I can create any genre I want without people putting me in a box.”

Alessia notes that it was an easy transition, explaining “it still feels like me, just an elevated pop sound. I don’t know that I would be in this bold on my own stuff so it’s cool to try these things with collaborators.”

Zedd & Alessia Cara’s new single “Stay” is also available on Apple Music and Spotify!


from Jon ALi’s Blog http://jonalisblog.com/2017/02/23/zedd-alessia-cara-team-up-on-pop-friendly-affair-stay/

Leave a Reply

