Mary J. Blige Turns A Negative Into A Positive On ‘U + Me (Love Lesson)’!

Mary J. Blige is in a very personal state of mind…

Following the release of breakup anthem “Thick Of It” back in October, the undisputed Queen of Hip Hop Soul continues to keep her divorce in the equation on: “U + Me (Love Lesson),” the second official single from her forthcoming album, Strength of a Woman.

But before we get into all that, can we all just take a second and admire Mary‘s flawless single artwork. Obvious photoshop aside, the woman is 46-years-old and still looks incredible. Okay, back to the music…

Much like “Thick Of It,” “U + Me (Love Lesson)” finds Mary reflecting on the end of her relationship. “Tell me what you’re thinking ’cause this is what you wanted/ Should’ve been the one to hold me when I got lonely/ ‘Cause every time I think of the lies you told to me/ Make it easy for me to leave,” she sings before diving into the song’s melodic soulful hook: “You plus me was a love lesson/ In too deep without imperfection/ Not always good, but I stay home phene/ You had me, should’ve never questioned/ You plus me was a love lesson.”

And then comes the bridge, where the sob fest takes a positive turn. Mary‘s learned her lesson: “Gotta keep on pushing and love myself through the hard times/ Gotta keep my patience, still a long way to go now. There’s so much to learn.”

Well, dang. This is why I love this woman, Mary pours her heart out on everything she does and you truly feel it. Forever taken to church – LOVE!

Mary J. Blige’s new single “U + Me (Love Lesson)” is also available on Apple Music and Spotify!


from Jon ALi’s Blog http://jonalisblog.com/2017/02/17/mary-j-blige-turns-a-negative-into-a-positive-on-u-me-love-lesson/

Leave a Reply

