Mariah Carey Calls Out Ex On New Breakup Anthem, ‘I Don’t’ Feat. YG!

Mariah Carey is tired of cryin’, no more tears!

As teased on the season finale of her disastrous-yet-amazing docu-series Mariah’s World, the can’t-be-bothered-to-lip-sync diva has dropped a brand new bop for her loyal Lambs on this #blessed Friday: “I Don’t” featuring YG, the first of a series of singles set to be released this year – according to Mariah.

Set across a mid-tempo throwback R&B beat, “I Don’t” sees The Elusive Chanteuse opening up about her failed romance with billionaire James Packer with a variety of revealing, shaming lines on the Bryan-Michael Cox and Jermaine Dupri-production. “Said you would always be mine/ Feeding me nothing but lies/ I was so gone, I admit it/ Happy messed up for a minute,” Mariah longingly coos before picking herself up and moving forward on the pre-chorus: “But I’m tired of cryin’, no more tears/ Pity party of the year/ Cold at night cause you’re not here/ Leaving you was my worst fear/ I was caught up, I was… blind/ You kept playin’ with my… mind/ Told you I’m finished, gassed up the whip and… Rear view, bye.” Tell em’, boy bye!

By the time we reach the chorus, it’s full on classic Mimi: “‘Cause when you love someone/ You just don’t treat them bad/ You messed up all we had/ Probably think I’m coming back/ But I don’t, I don’t,” she cries out.

The song is exactly the kind of record we’ve come to expect from Mimi as of late, full of angelic, feather-light crooning and smooth production not entirely unlike “You’re Mine (Eternal)” or “Touch My Body.” And of course, there’s a rap verse from YG to help add in some urban flavor.

It’s catchy enough after a while, yeah, but if we’re being real… “I Don’t” probably isn’t going score her another #1, and will likely be forgotten after a few weeks. But hey, this is Mariah’s World and we’re just here to just enjoy the ride.

Mariah Carey’s new single “I Don’t” (feat. YG) is also available on Apple Music!

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js


from Jon ALi’s Blog http://jonalisblog.com/2017/02/03/mariah-carey-calls-out-ex-on-new-breakup-anthem-i-dont-feat-yg/

Leave a Reply

