SZA Announces Album ‘CTRL’ & Debuts ‘Drew Barrymore’ On Jimmy Kimmel Live!

SZA is back in Control in 2017!

Last year, we saw the 26-year-old songstress return with a ton of features, including ones with her Top Dawg Entertainment labelmates ScHoolboy Q, Isaiah Rashad, and Ab-Soul, as well as her frequent collaborator, producer Felix Snow on the infectious “Lies” and most notably Rihanna on ANTI standout “Consideration.”

During her debut late night appearance on Jimmy Kimmel Live on Thursday (January 12), SZA announced that her anticipated full-length LP would be titled CTRL (aka Control). The project follows 2014’s Z EP and is set to include her brand new single: “Drew Barrymore” a song reportedly inspired by the actress and her movies like Never Been Kissed and Poison Ivy. “I just imagine this being the soundtrack to one of those movies,” SZA expressed during a recent New York showcase. “Cue Freddie Prinze, Jr.”

But more than just an ode to Drew Barrymore herself, the dreamy and ethereal number – produced by The Antydote and Carter Lang – also appears to be very personal and reflective with lyrics like: “I get so lonely, I forget what I’m worth/ We get so lonely, we pretend that this works/ I’m so ashamed of myself think I need therapy-y-y-y/ I’m sorry I’m not more attractive/ I’m sorry I’m not more ladylike/ I’m sorry I don’t shave my legs at night.”

It’s simply sublime – Bring on the album girl, I’ve been ready!

https://geo.itunes.apple.com/us/album/drew-barrymore/id1194815827?i=1194816230&app=music

SZA’s new single “Drew Barrymore” is also available on Spotify!



from Jon ALi’s Blog http://jonalisblog.com/2017/01/13/sza-announces-album-ctrl-debuts-drew-barrymore-on-jimmy-kimmel-live/

Leave a Reply

