Introducing ALMA, The New Finnish Alt-Pop Star Who Deserves All Of Your Attention!

Meet ALMA, a Finland-based singer-songwriter who deserves all of your attention.

She’s 20-years-old and already a big deal in her Helsinki hometown after a stint on Idols Finland. This past summer, ALMA‘s voice drove Felix Jaehn‘s smash “Bonfire,” which she also wrote and has already passed 51 million streams on Spotify. But while “Bonfire” may have gained her the most “mainstream” attention so far, it was her infectious “ode to vengeance” “Karma” that caught my attention first thanks to an introduction via my good friend Joe. They’re both equally impressive in their own right.

Since then, ALMA‘s quietly dropped her fantastic debut EP Dye My Hair in mid-October, and no one is talking about it enough. So let’s, shall we…

Along with the previously mentioned “Karma,” the EP includes infectious opener “Dye My Hair,” a pulsating slice of tropical, synthesized angst. The lyrics are pure relatable gold, too. “I’m not that kinda girl/ To keep my voice unheard/ To carefully pick words, oh no/ I’m not that kinda girl/ To easily get hurt/ No bullets pierce my eyes shut,” she declares before getting lost in her sweet devotion: “But there’s something in the way I act around you/ Tryna turn your head/ Laugh at jokes that I don’t get/ There is something in the way I act around you/ The way I feel about you/ Not a thing I wouldn’t do.” Have we not all been there?!?

There’s also the romantic “Knock,” which supplies a moodier pulse complimented by tripping beats and raspy melodies, conjuring subtle traces of Paloma Faith. “I can be your night out/ I can be your hideout/ So come knock on my door/ I can be your home now/ I can be your love now/ So come knock on my door,” she soothingly croons.

With just a small handful of songs at our disposal, it’s hard to make a full assessment on ALMA. But, judging by what she’s offered up on her debut Dye My Hair EP, her potential seems limitless. I’m certainly paying attention – GET FAMILIAR NOW!

ALMA’s debut Dye My Hair EP is also available on Spotify and Apple Music!



from Jon ALi’s Blog http://jonalisblog.com/2016/11/22/introducing-alma-the-new-finnish-alt-pop-star-who-deserves-all-of-your-attention/

Leave a comment