Little Mix Get REAL Personal On New Single ‘Shout Out To My Ex’!

It’s here Mixers! As promised, the ladies of Little Mix have dropped their brand new single “Shout Out To My Ex,” following their debut performance of the song during The X Factor UK live results show.

Set across thumping dance beats and infectious, folky guitar strums that heavily recall G.R.L‘s “Ugly Heart,” “Shout Out To My Ex” sees the girls – Perrie Edwards, Jesy Nelson, Leigh-Anne Pinnock and Jade Thirlwall – coming for their ex’s (specifically Perrie‘s ex Zayn Malik) with a variety of way harsh, shaming lines. “Hope she gettin’ better sex/ Hope she ain’t fakin’ it like I did, babe/ Took four long years to call it quits/ Forget that boy, I’m over it.” Well, damn. They said THAT.

Shout out to my ex, you’re really quite the man/ You made my heart break and that made me who I am,” Little Mix chant on the hook – again, very similar to “Ugly Heart” – “Here’s to my ex, hey, look at me now/ Well, I, I’m all the way up/ I swear you’ll never bring me down.” In singature Little Mix fashion, it’s one hell of a catchy tune that’s chock full of empowering lyricism and shining moments of their individual personalities.

I don’t think it’s quite on the same level as Salute lead “Move,” but it’s undeniably an effective lead single that will inevitably become a big hit from them in their native, maybe even in the U.S. We shall see… What do you guys think?

>

Little Mix’s new single “Shout Out To My Ex” is also available on Apple Music!



from Jon ALi’s Blog http://jonalisblog.com/2016/10/16/little-mix-get-real-personal-on-new-single-shout-out-to-my-ex/

Leave a Reply

