Bonnie McKee Pays Tribute To Prince With ‘When Doves Cry’ Cover!

The late and great Prince was never fond of people covering his songs – he would famously shade them – but I think our beloved singer-songstress Bonnie McKee is deserving of a pass considering she has provided us with countless pop masterpieces over the years.

Everyone is paying tribute to the Purple One in their own way anyway. It’s Prince cover overload! Bonnie has decided to re-work her personal fave “When Doves Cry,” which I think we can all agree is one of his most iconic moments. Bonnie‘s short but sweet version sees her laying down all the feels above the simplest/prettiest of synth-laced, atmospheric melodies (produced by Sean Walsh). As it goes on, the song fills out with some subtle production but the focus remains entirely on Bonnie‘s haunting voice. A great rendition but did we really expect anything less?

“Prince has been and always will be one of my favorite artists and songwriters of all time,” Bonnie said in a statement. “I’m not exaggerating when I say that I ask myself nearly every time I sit down to write a song, “What would Prince do?” Doves cry is perfection and I know I could never even hope to touch his brilliance, but in his passing I realized how much this song really means to me, and was inspired to pay homage to the late, great, genius who taught me to take musical risks, to act my age and not my shoe size, and how to get through this thing called life.”



from Jon ALi’s Blog http://jonalisblog.com/2016/04/29/bonnie-mckee-pays-tribute-to-prince-with-when-doves-cry-cover/

Leave a Reply

