‘Free’: BROODS Make Their Darker, More Confident Return!

BROODSHallelujah, the brooding New Zealand duo are back!

Two years ago, a meticulously styled brother-sister synth-pop duo named BROODS burst onto the scene with their brilliant self-titled debut EP, providing ethereal spaced-out productions like “Bridges,” “Never Gonna Change” and the gorgeously devastating “Mother & Father.”

This week, BROODS make their return with “Free,” our first taste of their upcoming sophomore album.

Much like their debut, the song relishes in a dark groove of layered vocals and haunting waves of sleek electronica. Yet once the chorus rolls around, it’s clear that the duo’s now navigating in a darker, more aggressive direction with their production: “Gritting your teeth, you hold onto me/ It’s never enough, I’m never complete/ Tell me to prove, expect me to lose/ I push it away, I’m trying to move/ Hoping for more, and wishing for less/ When I didn’t care was when I did best/ I’m desperate to run, I’m desperate to leave/ If I lose it all, at least I’ll be free,” front-woman Georgia cries out on the hook against explosions of marching drums and moody synthesizers. The song’s final few, menacing moments alone reach nearly t.A.T.u. meets Marilyn Manson meets Lorde-like heights.

Promising, yes–”Free” is a big, bold display of BROODS increasingly confident growth. It’s major.

http://cache.vevo.com/assets/html/embed.html?video=USUV71600700&partnerId=4d61b777-8023-4191-9ede-497ed6c24647

The new single from BROODS, “Free” will be available worldwide tomorrow (April 1)!


from Jon ALi’s Blog http://jonalisblog.com/2016/03/31/free-broods-make-their-darker-more-confident-return/

Leave a Reply

