Katy B Joins Forces With Craig David & Major Lazer On ‘Who Am I’!

Katy BPRAISE HER LIGHT: Katy B is continuing to bless us with new music!

Following the release of her smooth Kaytranada-produced title track and last year’s moody late-night throbber “Calm Down,” the UK dance floor princess decided to stop by Annie Mac‘s BBC Radio 1 show to debut her collaboration with Major Lazer and Craig David titled “Who Am I,” off of her upcoming album Honey, which will be released on April 29 via Rinse/Virgin EMI in the UK.

The atmospheric electro-ballad builds slowly, sort of like her very own “Crying For No Reason,” as she begins to question her purpose post breakup: “Who am I if I ain’t loving you?/ Tell me/ Who am I if I ain’t loving you?/ Baby/ Who am I if you’re not loving me?/ Tell me/ Cause you and me, that’s my identity,” Katy and David sing above the spacey, melodies and tripping drum beats. It’s beautifully devastating, soulful and vulnerable, and those heartfelt harmonies at the end are simply everything – These two are a match made in musical heaven.

“It’s kind of like a ‘Crying For No Reason‘ part two, it’s about breaking up with someone and feeling really lost,” Katy expressed on Annie Mac‘s BBC Radio 1 show. “And feeling like everything we had together, it’s not just you that I have to break away from, it’s all our friends or everything that we had together, we own together, that we built over the last few years. For me this is what the song is about. Loosing your identity and breaking away from someone and just figuring out how am I going to be myself and on my own. That sense of lost and grief of breaking up with someone. It’s a song from my heart.”


from Jon ALi’s Blog http://jonalisblog.com/2016/02/04/katy-b-joins-forces-with-craig-david-major-lazer-on-who-am-i/

Leave a Reply

