Tinashe Heats Up ‘Complex’ & Drops ‘Ride Of Your Life’ – Listen!

Party Favors” kaween Tinashe is Complex magazine’s February/March 2016 cover girl!

In between recording her sophomore album Joyride and prepping for its accompanying world tour, the 22-year-old singer shows off some major skin in what could be her sexiest shoot yet, all while giving us some insight on where she is in her life right now.

 photo tinashe-complex_zpspxajhqgu.png

On the status of Joyride: “I would’ve said 95 percent, but now I’m going back to 80 percent. Rethinking some things in the 11th hour.”

On recording the album in her childhood bedroom: “It’s a place for my solitude. I’m very comfortable here. I can be pure inspiration here, and not be affected by any other factor, whether that’s a producer or anyone else’s opinion. It also makes me feel like I’m the same person I was before I had any level of success, which was when I was the most inspired creatively.”

On not having a Plan B: “I have no Plan B. I’ve set this up so that my entire life is based on this, and if this fails I have nothing else. No career options. No life options. I’ve sacrificed so much for this; failure is so beyond an option. There can only be setbacks. It’ll eventually work because it can’t not work. And it’s never a fully hopeless situation, because I’ll always have some support.”

On songwriting: “I matured faster. I’ve always been able to tap into the storytelling aspect of writing. As an artist you’re allowed to create stories that aren’t so literal to your life. I’m able to take stories that my friends have gone through, things I’ve witnessed, secondhand accounts, and narrate that.”

In celebration of her steamy Complex cover, Tinashe has also released a new track off her anticipated sophomore album Joyride titled “Ride Of Your Life“! And like the majority of what we’ve heard already, it lingers on-top of a bouncy, atmospheric R&B-trap groove as she promises to “change your life.” Hardly anything life changing, but a solid taste of what’s to come for sure – GET INTO IT!


from Jon ALi’s Blog http://jonalisblog.com/2016/02/03/tinashe-heats-up-complex-mag-drops-ride-of-your-life-listen/

Leave a Reply

